Cobra Art Prize - Cobra Museum voor Moderne Kunst

Cobra Art Prize

The Cobra Art Prize encourages the contemporary art practice of an artist who translates the CoBrA philosophy into the present. Experiment, interdisciplinarity and radicality are at the heart of this legacy.

With the Cobra Art Prize Amstelveen, the Cobra Museum of Modern Art, together with the City of Amstelveen, highlights the values of the CoBrA movement and its role in contemporary art. Established in 2005, the prize is awarded every three years to a visual artist who creates innovative work that engages with the spirit of the CoBrA movement. The prize is based on nomination by the jury members.

The Cobra Art Prize Amstelveen is part of a long tradition of Amstelveen art prizes such as the Kunstaanmoedigingsprijs (Art Encouragement prize) from the City of Amstelveen and the Philip Morris Art Prize. Both of these prizes are part of the DNA of the Cobra Art Prize Amstelveen.


The price is composed of three parts:

  • a monetary award of €15,000
  • an exhibition at the Cobra Museum

Previous winners of the Cobra Art Prize Amstelveen have been Joost Conijn (2005), Johannes Schwartz (2007), Gijs Frieling (2009), Nathaniel Mellors (2011), Metahaven (2013), Jennifer Tee (2015), Christian Friedrich (2017) and Guido van der Werve in 2021.

The Cobra Art Price Amstelveen is generously supported by the Amstelveen City Council.